North West Company (Iqaluit North Mart Store)

Prepared by: Samson & Associates
Prepared for: Department of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
Date: March 31, 2012

PDF Version (338 Kb, 8 Pages)

Table of contents

1.0 Executive Summary

On April 1, 2011, the Nutrition North Canada replaced the Food Mail Program, which was operated by Canada Post since the late 60's. Much like Food Mail, the purpose of Nutrition North Canada is to make nutritious food more accessible and more affordable to residents of isolated northern communities that lack year-round surface and marine transportation links to southern centres.

Accordingly, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada commissioned a compliance review based on specific objectives for the period covering April 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011. The results of the review are as follows:

i) Program Visibility

Review Objective: Verify that program visibility requirements are met (e.g. subsidy rates are written on cash receipts and program material, such as posters, are clearly visible in the store).

Conclusion: The review found that the recipient was clearly identifying the NNC subsidy on cash register receipts and signage was on display throughout the store.

ii) Respect of Program Rules

Review Objective: Verify that recipients respect all program rules, especially in regards to sales to ineligible customers such as mining camps or construction companies.

Conclusion: The review revealed that the recipient was respecting the program rules with respect to sales to ineligible customers.

2.0 Introduction

2.1 Background

On April 1, 2011, Nutrition North Canada (NNC) replaced the Food Mail Program, which was operated by Canada Post since the late 60's. Much like Food Mail, the purpose of NNC is to make nutritious food more accessible and more affordable to residents of isolated northern communities that lack year-round surface and marine transportation links to southern centres.

There are currently 103 communities eligible for the program (82 are eligible for a full subsidy and 21 for a partial subsidy), located in Nunavut, the Northwest Territories , Yukon, Labrador, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Two levels of subsidy rates per kilogram have been established for each community; Level 1 (higher) for the most the nutritious perishable foods and Level 2 (lower) for other eligible items. Communities where operating and transportation costs are higher (e.g. Grise Fiord, Nunavut) tend to have higher subsidy rates.

Northern retailers and southern suppliers registered with the program (the recipients) are responsible to manage their supply chain and claim a subsidy from NNC for eligible food and non-food items that they air ship to eligible communities. On a monthly basis, they must submit a claim form (kg x subsidy rates), a detailed shipment report (kg per item, community, client type, etc.), invoices and waybills to receive the payment (most receive advance payments based on forecasted weights). These documents are submitted to the program's claims processor under contract with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) (the Saskatchewan Institute of Information Technology in collaboration with Crawford). The claims processor verifies the claims and provides NNC with a recommendation for payment. Registered northern retailers must also submit, directly to NNC, a monthly pricing report for a pre-determined list of food items. These and other program requirements are identified in contribution agreements between the recipients and AANDC.

As of December 31, 2011, seven northern retailers and 26 southern suppliers were registered with NNC. Northern retailers are those entities that operate one or multiple food retail stores in eligible communities. Southern suppliers are food providers operating out of non-NNC eligible communities that supply eligible items directly to small northern retailers, commercial establishments (restaurants, etc.), social institutions (daycares, etc.) and individuals (referred to as direct or personal orders) located in eligible communities.

The selection of recipients for this compliance review was based on perceived risk and geographical location. Risk levels for compliance review purposes were based on the current experience with recipients regarding the claiming and reporting process, i.e. difficulties encountered by the claims processor, on information brought to the program's attention by interested parties, and on materiality. For practicality and cost-effectiveness reasons, at least two recipients have been selected per geographical location.

2.2 Objectives

The objective of the recipient compliance review is to provide assurance that the NNC recipient is in compliance with the terms and conditions of the funding agreements signed with AANDC. Specifically, the compliance review will:

  1. Verify that program visibility requirements are met (e.g. for northern retailers, that subsidy rates are written on cash receipts and program material, such as posters, are clearly visible in the store, and, for southern suppliers, that the amount of the subsidy reduction is clearly identified on customers' invoices);
  2. Verify that recipients respect all program rules, especially with respect to sales to ineligible customers such as mining camps or construction companies.

2.3 Scope

The scope included the funding provided by AANDC to the North West Company for its Iqaluit store for the period April 1, 2011 to December 31, 2011. The review was conducted at the North Mart Store in Iqaluit, Nunavut, from March 12 to 13, 2012.

2.4 Approach and Methodology

The compliance review included the following procedures:

  • Performing an on-site visit and verifying that program visibility requirements were met (e.g. subsidy rates are written on cash receipts and program material, such as posters, are clearly visible in the store); and
  • Performing interviews and a review of accounts receivable to determine if ineligible customers were benefiting from the subsidy when placing orders through the North Mart Store.

2.5 Conclusion

The recipient has complied with the objectives of the review.


Custom Plastic Label Protectors & Laminated Custom Poster


NNC Eligible Product Sea Lifted & Old Style NNC Red Label

3.0 Compliance with the Objectives

3.1 Program Visibility

Review Objective: Verify that program visibility requirements are met (e.g. subsidy rates are written on cash receipts and program material, such as posters, are clearly visible in the store).

Conclusion: The review found that the recipient was clearly identifying the NNC subsidy rates on cash register receipts and signage was on display throughout the store.

Observation Note: The review found that the recipient has taken extraordinary steps to animate the purpose and intent of the NNC program by producing customized signage and purchasing specialized plastic sleeves to identify the price of products with and without the subsidy.

During the walkthrough of the store, the store manager identified three types of signs in the store for products. Those with no NNC label on the shelf sticker, those with a NNC red dot on the shelf sticker and those with a NNC shelf sticker. The NNC red dot signs are being phased out and full store conversion is expected this year. Every product in the store was labeled as either NNC or non-NNC. This has been somewhat problematic as many NNC eligible products are only sea lifted. For example, jams, salad dressings and relish do not have a NNC label as these all arrive by sea lift.

The North West Company has taken the initiative of the NNC program very seriously by designing a signage program and laminating all posters advertising the program with the company logo at the bottom of the sign. In addition, shelf price stand-out signs, which display the subsidy as well as the price without the subsidy, are run on a custom computer program. The home office has taken an additional step and has purchased plastic protectors for these signs. The new posters and shelf price stand-out signs stand out better, are neater, and the plastic covering makes the signs more robust as well as easier to clean. There are currently 120 signs in the store showing the savings realized by the NNC program.

In addition, the review made of a cash sales ticket found that the subsidy rate was clearly presented below the sales total on the ticket.

3.2 Respect of Program Rules

Review Objective: Verify that recipients respect all program rules, especially in regards to sales to ineligible customers such as mining camps or construction companies.

Conclusion: The review revealed that the recipient was respecting the program rules with respect to sales to ineligible customers.

Appendix A - Recipient's Comments to the Draft Report and the Auditor's Response

Recipient Comments:

The North West Company has been committed to showing our customers complete transparency for the Nutrition North Canada (NNC) price savings since the program's launch on April 1st, 2011. We have invested significantly in company-developed, open communication designed to prominently display the customers' savings. The NNC sign packages in Iqaluit are typical of signage in all Northern and NorthMart stores across northern Canada, and clearly state that the NNC subsidy is being passed on to consumers.

It is the intent of The North West Company to leverage the NNC program to bring the lowest price possible to all northern consumers in all healthy living products. We will continue to pass on the entire Nutrition North Canada price savings, as directed by the Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Department (AANDC) of the Canadian Federal Government. Additionally, The North West Company will continue to fully support AANDC and Health Canada initiatives and independently develop transparent communication.

Michael McMullen
Executive Vice President Northern Canada Retail
The North West Company

Auditor's Response:

No response is required.



Date modified:

North West Company (NorthMart à Iqaluit)

Préparé par : Samson & Associés
Préparé pour : Ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Nord canadien
Date : 31 mars 2012

Format PDF (331 Ko, 9 pages)

Table des matières

1.0 Sommaire

Le 1er avril 2011, Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) a remplacé le programme Aliments-poste, qui était opéré par Postes Canada depuis la fin des années 1960. Tout comme l'ancien programme, le but de NNC est de s'assurer que les Canadiens qui habitent dans des collectivités isolées du Nord ont accès à des aliments périssables nutritifs.

En conséquence, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a demandé qu'un examen de conformité basé sur des objectifs spécifiques soit effectué pour la période du 1er avril 2011 au 31 décembre 2011. Les résultats de cet examen sont les suivants :

i) Visibilité du programme

Objectif de l'examen : Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte les exigences concernant la visibilité du programme (ex.: les détaillants du Nord doivent inscrire les taux de contribution sur les reçus de caisse et sur le matériel du programme, tels qu'affiches, et le matériel doit être visible dans le magasin).

Conclusion : L'examen a révélé que le bénéficiaire indiquait clairement le taux de contribution du programme NNC sur les reçus de caisse et que des affiches sur le programme avaient été posées dans l'ensemble du magasin.

ii) Respect des règles du programme

Objectifs de l'examen : Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte toutes les règles du programme, plus précisément celles concernant les ventes à des clients inadmissibles tels que les campements miniers ou les compagnies de construction.

Conclusion : La vérification a démontré que le bénéficiaire respecte les règles du programme en ce qui concerne la vente à des clients inadmissibles.

2.0 Introduction

2.1 Contexte

Le 1er avril 2011, NNC a remplacé l'ancien programme Aliments-postes, qui était opéré par Postes Canada depuis la fin des années 1960. Tout comme l'ancien programme, le but de NNC est de s'assurer que les Canadiens qui habitent dans des collectivités isolées du Nord ont accès à des aliments périssables nutritifs.

Il y a présentement 103 communautés admissibles à ce programme (82 communautés sont admissibles à une contribution complète et 21 sont admissibles à une contribution partielle), situées au Nunavut, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Yukon, Labrador, Québec, Ontario, Manitoba et Saskatchewan. Deux niveaux de taux de contribution par kilogramme ont été établis pour chaque communauté : Niveau 1 (plus élevé) pour les aliments périssables les plus nutritifs et Niveau 2 (plus bas) pour les autres aliments admissibles. En général, les communautés où les frais d'opération et de transport sont plus élevés (ex.: Grise Fiord, Nunavut) ont des taux de contribution plus élevés.

Les détaillants du Nord et les fournisseurs du Sud enregistrés auprès du programme (bénéficiaires) sont responsables de gérer leur chaîne d'approvisionnement et de réclamer une contribution auprès de NNC pour les aliments et articles non-alimentaires admissibles qui sont expédiés par avion aux communautés admissibles. Sur une base mensuelle, ils doivent soumettre une réclamation (kg x taux de contribution), un relevé détaillé d'expédition (kg par item, communauté, type de client, etc.), les factures et récépissés afin de recevoir le paiement (la plupart ont droit à une avance basée sur les estimés de poids). Ces documents sont soumis au responsable du traitement des réclamations du programme qui est sous contrat avec AADNC (Saskatchewan Institute of Information Technology en collaboration avec Crawford). Le responsable du traitement des réclamations vérifie les réclamations et les fournit à NNC avec recommandation pour paiement. Les détaillants du Nord enregistrés doivent également soumettre, directement à NNC, un rapport mensuel sur les prix pour une liste prédéterminée d'aliments. Ces exigences ainsi que les autres exigences du programme sont identifiées dans les accords de contribution entre les bénéficiaires et AADNC.

En date du 31 décembre 2011, sept détaillants du Nord et 26 fournisseurs du Sud étaient enregistrés auprès de NNC. Les détaillants du Nord sont les entités qui opèrent un ou plusieurs magasins d'alimentation dans les communautés admissibles. Les fournisseurs du Sud sont les fournisseurs d'aliments qui opèrent dans des communautés qui ne font pas partie de NNC et qui fournissent de la marchandise directement aux petits détaillants du Nord, établissements commerciaux (restaurants), institutions sociales (garderies, etc.) et individus (s'appliquant aux commandes directes ou personnelles) situés dans les collectivités admissibles.

La sélection des bénéficiaires assujettis à cet examen de conformité fut basée sur une analyse du risque et la localisation géographique. Les niveaux de risques ont été basés sur l'expérience courante avec les bénéficiaires en ce qui concerne les procédés de réclamations et de rapports, c.-à-d. les difficultés rencontrées par le responsable du traitement des réclamations, l'information portée à l'attention du programme par les parties concernées, et sur la matérialité. Pour des raisons de praticité et d'efficience, au moins deux bénéficiaires ont été choisis par localisation géographique.

2.2 Objectifs

L'objectif de l'examen de conformité du bénéficiaire est de fournir l'assurance que le bénéficiaire se conforme aux termes et conditions de l'accord signé avec AADNC. Plus précisément, l'examen de conformité vise à:

  1. Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte les exigences concernant la visibilité du programme (ex.: les détaillants du Nord doivent inscrire les taux de contribution sur les reçus de caisse et sur le matériel du programme, tels qu'affiches, et le matériel doit être visible dans le magasin; les fournisseurs du Sud doivent identifier clairement le montant de la réduction de la contribution sur les factures des clients);
  2. Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte toutes les règles du programme, plus précisément celles concernant les ventes à des clients inadmissibles tells que les campements miniers ou les compagnies de construction.

2.3 Portée de l'examen

Le travail portait sur le financement versé à la North West Company pour son magasin d'Iqaluit par AADNC pour la période du 1er avril 2011 au 31 décembre 2011. L'examen a été effectué au magasin NorthMart à Iqaluit, Nunavut, les 12 et 13 mars 2012.

2.4 Approche et méthodologie

Voici les étapes qui ont été suivies lors de l'examen de la conformité :

  • Réalisation d'une visite sur place, notamment pour vérifier si on s'était conformés aux exigences relatives à la visibilité du programme (ex. : les détaillants du Nord doivent inscrire les taux de contribution sur les reçus de caisse et sur le matériel du programme, tels qu'affiches, et le matériel doit être visible dans le magasin);
  • Réalisation d'entrevues et examen de la liste des comptes débiteurs pour déterminer si des clients non admissibles avaient profité de la contribution par l'intermédiaire du magasin NorthMart.

2.5 Conclusion

Nous sommes d'avis que le bénéficiaire s'est conformé aux objectifs de l'examen.

Affiche laminée et protecteurs d'étiquettes en plastique personnalisés


Produits admissibles livrés par voie maritime et anciennes étiquettes rouges du programme

3.0 Conformité aux objectifs

3.1 Visibilité du programme

Objectif de l'examen : Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte les exigences concernant la visibilité du programme (ex.: les détaillants du Nord doivent inscrire les taux de contribution sur les reçus de caisse et sur le matériel du programme, tels qu'affiches, et le matériel doit être visible dans le magasin).

Conclusion : L'examen a révélé que le bénéficiaire indiquait clairement les taux de contribution du programme NNC sur les reçus de caisse et que des affiches sur le programme avaient été posées dans l'ensemble du magasin.

Remarque relative aux observations : La visite a révélé que le bénéficiaire a pris des mesures extraordinaires pour promouvoir le but et l'objet du programme NNC, en produisant des affiches personnalisées et en achetant des protecteurs d'étiquettes en plastique spécialisés pour indiquer les prix des produits avec et sans la contribution.

Durant la visite du commerce, le gérant a présenté les trois méthodes utilisées pour désigner les différents articles : il y a des articles pour lesquels aucune étiquette du programme NNC ne figure sur l'autocollant de l'étagère, d'autres pour lesquels un point rouge désignant le programme est apposé sur l'autocollant de l'étagère et, enfin, d'autres pour lesquels figure sur l'étagère un autocollant du programme. Le point rouge du programme NNC ne sera bientôt plus utilisé et le commerce devra procéder à la transition complète cette année. Tous les produits du commerce sont étiquetés comme admissible au programme ou non. L'étiquetage à cet égard se révèle parfois problématique, étant donné que de nombreux produits admissibles sont uniquement livrés par voie maritime. Par exemple, les confitures, les vinaigrettes et la relish ne s'accompagnent pas d'une étiquette du programme NNC puisqu'elles sont livrées par bateau.

La North West Company prend très au sérieux le programme NNC; elle a ainsi créé un programme d'affichage dans le cadre duquel le logo de la Compagnie a été ajouté au bas de toutes les affiches de promotion du programme, lesquelles ont également été laminées. De plus, des étiquettes de prix, installées sur les étagères et indiquant le montant de la contribution ainsi que le prix sans cette dernière, ont été conçues à l'aide d'un programme informatique personnalisé. Le bureau principal a pris une mesure additionnelle en achetant des protecteurs en plastique pour ces étiquettes. Les nouvelles affiches et étiquettes de prix sont plus visibles et plus claires, et elles sont également plus solides et plus faciles à nettoyer grâce aux protecteurs en plastique. Actuellement, le commerce compte 120 étiquettes indiquant les économies réalisées grâce au programme NNC.

En outre, une facture a été inspectée et cette dernière présentait clairement le taux de contribution sous le total de la vente.

3.2 Respect des règles du programme

Objectifs de l'examen : Vérifier que le bénéficiaire respecte toutes les règles du programme, plus précisément celles concernant les ventes à des clients inadmissibles tels que les campements miniers ou les compagnies de construction.

Conclusion : La vérification a démontré que le bénéficiaire respecte les règles du programme en ce qui concerne la vente à des clients inadmissibles.

Annexe A - Commentaires du bénéficiaire sur l'ébauche du rapport et réponse du vérificateur

Commentaires du bénéficiaire :

La North West Company s'est engagée à démontrer à ses clients la transparence la plus complète en ce qui concerne les économies liées au programme Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) depuis l'entrée en vigueur du programme le 1er avril 2011. Nous avons investi généreusement dans des produits de communication ouverts développés par la compagnie et élaborés de façon à mettre en évidence les économies réalisées par les clients. L'ensemble de l'affichage NNC observé à Iqaluit est représentatif de l'affichage que l'on retrouve dans tous les magasins Northern et NorthMart à la grandeur du Nord canadien et démontre clairement que les consommateurs bénéficient de la contribution de NNC.

La North West Company a l'intention de d'utilier le programme NNC comme effet de levier afin d'offrir aux consommateurs du Nord les prix les plus bas possibles pour tous les produits sains. Tel qu'exigé par le ministère des Affaires autochtones et développement du Nord canadien (AADNC) du Gouvernment du Canada, nous allons continuer à faire profiter entièrement nos clients de la contribution de Nutrition Nord Canada. De plus, la North West Company continuera à appuyer pleinement les initiatives d'AADNC et Santé Canada et à développer des produits de communication transparents de façon indépendante.

Michael McMullen
Vice président exécutif, Vente au détail du Nord canadien
The North West Company

Réponse du vérificateur :

Aucune réponse requise.

Date de modification :