Advisory board members' biographies

Nellie Cournoyea, board member since November 2010, Chair

Nellie Cournoyea

Ms. Cournoyea brings to the board substantial experience in territorial and regional Aboriginal government, having served in numerous positions connected to social and support programs. During her many years as an elected representative for the riding of Nunakput in the Northwest Territories, she held several ministerial portfolios, including Health and Social Services, culminating with a 4-year term as Premier of the territory. She also served as the Chair and Chief Executive Officer of Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, the corporation with the mandate to receive the Inuvialuit lands and financial compensation resulting from the 1984 land claim settlement.

Born and raised on the land, Ms. Cournoyea was educated through the Federal Aklavik Day School and by Alberta correspondence courses.

Gordon Harkness, board member since April 2015, Vice-Chair

Gordon Harkness brings to the advisory board a vast knowledge and years of experience, along with a keen understanding and appreciation of all aspects of northern retailing, including distribution and transportation.

With the help of a nutritionist and dietitian, he initiated an in-store nutrition program, using the four colours of the Canadian Food Guide to identify healthy food choices.

Mr. Harkness also worked with the government of Saskatchewan to develop and implement a food freight subsidy program for remote communities in the northern part of the province.

Mr. Harkness is familiar with and has visited more than 70 of the communities using the Nutrition North Canada program. Over the course of a year, he spends approximately 100 days in a number of communities across the North.

Brenda Jancke, board member since June 2021

Mrs. Jancke is currently Regional Director for the Department of Family Services in Cambridge Bay, Nunavut.

She has previous board experience and demonstrates an understanding of the high cost of living in Northern communities.

Beth Kotierk, board member since June 2021

Ms. Kotierk is a civil lawyer who also serves as a board member of the Qajuqturvik Food Centre.

She has experience working on policy and community programming initiatives related to food sovereignty, food security and anti-poverty.

Janice Grey-Scott, board member since June 2021

Ms. Grey-Scott has extensive experience in both the retail and traditional aspects of food security in her community.

As an avid harvester who has worked for the Aupaluk Cooperative Association, she has a solid understanding of the balance required between store-bought and traditionally harvested foods in achieving food sovereignty in isolated Arctic communities.

Dr. Sarah Jane Cook, board member since June 2021

Dr. Sarah Jane Cook

Dr. Cook is a family physician in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, as well as the primary physician for the Nutrition North Canada community of Fort Good Hope. She previously served as Territorial Medical Director of the Northwest Territories Health and Social Services Authority.

Nutrition is an area of personal and professional interest to Dr. Cook and she recently completed additional training in this area to supplement her knowledge. In her work as a family doctor, discussing food choices and access is an important part of supporting culturally safe health and wellness. Through these clinical experiences, she has observed firsthand the impact of food security and insecurity in isolated northern communities.

Date modified:

Notices biographiques des membres actuels

Nellie Cournoyea, membre du conseil depuis novembre 2010, présidente

Nellie Cournoyea

Mme Cournoyea apporte au conseil une grande expérience en matière de gouvernement autochtone territorial et régional, puisqu'elle a occupé de nombreux postes liés aux programmes sociaux et de soutien. Pendant ses nombreuses années à titre de députée de la circonscription de Nunakput dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, elle a occupé plusieurs postes de ministre, notamment au ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux, avant que sa carrière ne culmine par un mandat de quatre années comme première ministre des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Elle a également été présidente et première dirigeante de la Société régionale inuvialuit, une entreprise dont le mandat est de recevoir les terres inuvialuit et les compensations financières résultant de l'entente sur le règlement des revendications territoriales de 1984.

Née et élevée sur la terre, Mme Cournoyea a fait ses études à la Federal Aklavik Day School et au moyen de cours par correspondance dispensés par l'Alberta.

Gordon Harkness, membre du conseil depuis avril 2015, vice-président

Gordon Harkness apporte au Conseil consultatif sa vaste expérience, fruit de nombreuses années de travail, ainsi que sa profonde compréhension de tous les aspects relatifs à la vente au détail dans le Nord, notamment la distribution et le transport.

Avec l'aide d'un professionnel de la nutrition, il a lancé un programme d'éducation sur l'alimentation en magasin en se servant des quatre couleurs du Guide alimentaire canadien pour indiquer les choix alimentaires sains.

M. Harkness a également collaboré avec le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan pour concevoir et mettre en œuvre le programme de subventions pour l'envoi d'aliments dans les collectivités isolées du Nord de la province.

M. Harkness a visité plus de 70 collectivités qui bénéficient du programme Nutrition Nord Canada. Tous les ans, il passe plus de 100 jours dans diverses collectivités du Nord.

Brenda Jancke, membre du conseil depuis juin 2021

Mme Jancke est actuellement directrice régionale du ministère des Services à la famille à Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut.

Elle a déjà été membre d'un conseil d'administration et connaît le coût de la vie élevé dans les communautés du Nord.

Beth Kotierk, membre du conseil depuis juin 2021

Mme Kotierk est avocate spécialisée en droit civil et est également membre du conseil d'administration du Qajuqturvik Food Centre.

Elle a travaillé sur des initiatives stratégiques et de programmation communautaire liées à la souveraineté alimentaire, à la sécurité alimentaire et à la lutte contre la pauvreté.

Janice Grey-Scott, membre du conseil depuis juin 2021

Mme Grey-Scott possède une vaste expérience dans les aspects liés au commerce de détail et aux traditions de la sécurité alimentaire dans sa communauté.

En tant que fervente récolteuse et ayant travaillé pour l'Association de la coopérative d'Aupaluk, elle comprend parfaitement l'équilibre nécessaire entre les aliments achetés en magasin et les aliments récoltés traditionnellement pour atteindre la souveraineté alimentaire dans les communautés isolées de l'Arctique.

Dre Sarah Jane Cook, membre du conseil depuis juin 2021

Dre Sarah Jane Cook

Dre Cook est médecin de famille à Yellowknife, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ainsi que médecin principal de Nutrition Nord Canada à Fort Good Hope. Auparavant, elle occupait le poste de directrice médicale territoriale de l'Administration des services de santé et des services sociaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

La nutrition est un domaine d'intérêt personnel et professionnel pour Dre Cook et elle a récemment suivi une formation supplémentaire dans ce domaine pour approfondir ses connaissances. Dans son travail de médecin de famille, les discussions sur les choix alimentaires et l'accès à la nourriture constituent une partie importante du soutien de la santé et du bien-être adapté à la culture. Grâce à ces expériences cliniques, elle a pu observer directement les effets de la sécurité et de l'insécurité alimentaires dans les communautés isolées du Nord.

Date de modification :